Intergovernmental Council Meeting held in Yellowknife

June 18, 2019 (YELLOWKNIFE) – Leaders from the Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT) and Indigenous governments, who are partners in Devolution, met in Yellowknife today to discuss a range of issues related to lands and resource management at the Intergovernmental Council meeting.
As a key feature of the Devolution Agreement, the creation of an Intergovernmental Council allows governments to cooperate and collaborate on matters related to Lands, Resources and Water Management. The meetings help strengthen the territorial government’s relationships with the NWT Indigenous partners, a main priority of the 18th Legislative Assembly.
Leaders from the GNWT, Northwest Territory Métis Nation, Sahtu Secretariat Incorporated, Gwich’in Tribal Council, Tłı̨chǫ Government, Acho Dene Koe First Nation, Salt River First Nation, Denínu Kúę́ ̨ First Nation and the Kátł’odeeche First Nation were involved in the meeting and discussed a range of lands, water and resources issues including the federal Bill C-88, legislative and policy priorities and we continue to develop our government-to government working relationships.
For more information, contact:
Todd Sasaki
Senior Communications Officer
Government of the Northwest Territories
867-767-9168 ext. 15015
Laura Duncan
Tłı̨chǫ Executive Officer
Tłı̨chǫ Government
Elizabeth Kolb
Communication Advisor
Inuvialuit Regional Corporation


Ursula Vogt
Executive Director
Northwest Territory Métis Nation


Boyd Clark
Advisor/Operations Manager
Acho Dene Koe First Nation
Carol Ann Chaplin
Senior Administrative Officer
Denínu Kúę́ ̨ First Nation


David L. MacMartin
Director of Intergovernmental Relations
Gwich’in Tribal Council


Allen Stanzell
Chief Executive Officer
Salt River First Nation


Peter Redvers
Lead, Negotiations and Consultations
Kátł’odeeche First Nation


Related News